TALES FROM THE TABLE: What Every Massage Therapist (and their clients/patients) Should Know

TALES FROM THE TABLE: My Massage Practice – What every massage therapist (and their clients/patients) should know

I remember the kind words of various clients throughout my career as a massage therapist. One young woman told me that my hands reminded her of the tender touch of her mother. I was so honored to hear that. Therapists need to always remember that to serve your patients/clients is an honor and a privilege.

There would be times when I could feel the healing energy running through my hands. As therapists we always need to remember and not get it twisted, the healing energy comes from the Creator, (whatever name you choose to use, (God, Allah, Jah, Jehovah, Ntr, Great Spirit…) not us, we are merely the channel or river which it chooses to flow through.

Unfortunately, there are times when clients can be very demanding, unreasonable so. Perhaps because massage is such a close relationship between therapist and client/patient, some clients/patients may blur the line, becoming territorial and project their own desires or confusions to their massage therapist.

One client, who quickly became a former client, an international business attorney who traveled regularly, had a downright tantrum when I told him I was going on vacation and would be unavailable for two weeks. His attitude was “how dare you not be there for me”. How dare him to begrudge me my time off! Please remember that unless you have your massage therapist on a paid 24/7 on-call retainer (and what therapist in there right mind really wants that!) that yes we have our own lives and families too.

I remember the story relayed to me by another massage therapist. She had injured one of her arms skiing. Her arm was bandaged and in a sling for a short time and she could not work until it completely healed. I couldn’t believe the insensitivity of of her client when she told my friend, “Well, you still have one good arm don’t you? Massage me with that one. I’m in pain!” Can you imagine both scenarios happening to MD’s? I don’t think so! Don’t be selfish people, show your massage therapist the respect they deserve!

 WHAT MAKES A GOOD PATIENT/CLIENT?

Here are the Rules:

1) They keep their appointments.

2) They are on time for their appointments and schedule them regularly.

3) They know their own body and are able to communicate where the pain is.

4) They listen and are open to try your wellness/stress management techniques and suggestions.

5) They don’t fuss about their hair or make-up and remember not to wear heavy make-up before the massage.

6) They remember to breathe and let go through the discomfort to get to the other side to relaxation, healing and wellness. (As opposed to tensing up their body or gripping the table when you tell them to relax and breathe!)

7) They bathe before the massage. Enough said.

8) They tip.

9) They are appreciative of your time and your healing hands!

10) They refer other good patients/clients to you!

This entry was posted in Beyond Wholistic Health, Massage Therapy and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to TALES FROM THE TABLE: What Every Massage Therapist (and their clients/patients) Should Know

  1. Humor News says:

    Very nice very nice stuff you have on ur blog your above excellence

  2. liz nohren says:

    I am not positive the place you are getting your info, but great topic. I must spend a while finding out much more or figuring out more. Thanks for excellent info I was on the lookout for this info for my mission.

    • Tricia says:

      Thank you for your thoughts. My words come from first hand experience of being a massage therapist and wholistic health student and teacher of over 20 years. I’ve had some great teachers.

  3. I simply want to mention I am just all new to blogging and site-building and certainly savored you’re page. Very likely I’m going to bookmark your blog post . You really have outstanding articles. Many thanks for sharing your web-site.

  4. Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really well written article. I will be sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful info. Thanks for the post. I will certainly return.

Leave a Reply

